spray painted windsor chairs

You might recall my day from hell when I tried to spray paint chairs on my tiny apartment balcony. I realize now how silly that was, but I couldn’t help it! I’m a charge-ahead-oh-i-can-do-it-by-myself kind of gal. I’m also the kind of gal that can admit defeat. So at the nearest opportunity I carted those chairs over here to my parents’ house where there are wide open spaces and a very knowledgeable dad who can supervise and instruct me.

krylon tomato spray paint

windsor chairs

windsor chairs half painted

windsor chair on sawhorses

red windosr chair

Here’s what my ole dad has taught me about spray painting:

1)  Don’t try to do too much at once – you want to do many light coats. If you spray too fast and too thick it will end up looking gloppy. You can tell which chairs I worked on and which my dad worked on. Sighs.

2) Overbuy spray paint cans so that you don’t run out of paint halfway through your project. As an aside, I bought my spray paint at Home Depot in Austin. When I ran out, I thought it was no big deal as I would be shopping in Houston the next day. I went to 2 Home Depots, a Lowes, a Wal-Mart, and a Sears Hardware Store. I also sent my brother-in-law to Wal-Mart and Home Depot in Brenham. Apparently my choice of shades in the Houston Area was limited to basically Red and Burgundy – I couldn’t find my shade of red. So, back in Austin yesterday I returned to Home Depot and there it was sitting happily amongst a wide variety of reds – light reds, dark reds, orange-reds, deep reds, etc. As my mom would say, “there’s an allegory in there.”

3)  Find a spot shielded from the wind to do your spray painting.

4) Paint your chair in pieces. We sprayed the tops/seats of the chairs and then set them on sawhorses to paint the legs.

5) Keep your paint can parallel to what you’re spraying so that you get an even coat.

Geez that guy is so useful.

Leave a Reply

