weekend recap: chicken IN waffles

I did it! I cooked the chicken and no one got violently ill. High-fives all around.

First of all I learned that you’re supposed to put egg in your frying batter. Whoops. The egg (apparently) keeps your deliciously flavored fried goodness from falling off your chicken.

if you look closely you can see yummy chicken with yummy batter falling off...

My sister wanted to try the chicken-and-waffles-on-a-stick, which was fun, but did unfortunately dry the chicken out.

When we got tired of workin’ so hard to put chicken on sticks we cut up the remaining chicken pieces, threw them on the waffle iron and poured the remaining batter on top. It actually turned out GREAT.

Oh, and as for that whole dipping thing, well my sister’s friend suggested simply putting red pepper flakes in our maple syrup. It was sweet, spicy and perfect.


I didn’t know it at the time, but I also made my new favorite thing in the whole world:  beet salad (recipe from The Neurotic Artisan). If you like beets, try this. If you don’t like beets, well try it anyway, maybe, if you don’t mind. It was delicious that night and then even more so the next day.

When I wasn’t cookin’ and movin’ stuff and elbowin’ folks out of my way at Wal-Mart when I knew better than to go there, I continued working on my rag rug.

By the way, it’s not supposed to look like this:

Or this:

But, the good news is that I’m figuring it out….and I’m almost finished!

I hope you all had productive and relaxing weekends.

And to those of you back in school….enjoy it while it lasts!

Leave a Reply

