i’m makin a rag rug

….and I’m not done yet. But I wanted to give y’all a preview, if you don’t mind, so I can explain what’s going on with it. It’s got a ways to go.

Here’s where we stand at the moment:

But now look at it with my shoes on top for size perspective:

I think we’re just getting started.

Things I’m proud of:

1) Progress. I’ve been wanting to do this a long time and I think it looks pretty fairly decently okay.

2) Colors. I like the mix of greens.

Things I don’t like:

1) Size. It’s taking a lot longer than I thought. I worked on it for a good while and proudly laid it on the floor only to discover that it’s basically an oversized trivet at the moment. I’ve also already used up almost all the tshirt yarn I made.

2) Colors. I don’t like that strip of light green that doesn’t make it the whole way around the outside. If I end up making the rug significantly bigger then maybe that one line won’t be a big deal, but for me (right now)  it makes the whole thing look a bit more rinky dink than it should.

So far I’ve really honed one particular skill while working on this rug – patience. When I complete it I will share with you the things I learn which you might actually find helpful. I can tell you from my short experience thus far that it’s pretty simple (if you’ve already got that patience thing down) and you can do it too!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott said,

    don’t worry about the imperfections, it’s a rag rug! i love your blog


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

