makin a mix cd for a 7 year old

Recently my nephew and niece (whom I will affectionately call Thing 1 and Thing 2) rode with my sister to dinner. While we were waiting for our food, Thing 1 pointed at my sister and said (oh so cutely):

“Aunt Kate! She wouldn’t play our song.”

Our song! Rays of joy shot right out of my face. Thing 1 and I have a song! The stuff I do impresses him! He remembers our time together! I have an impact on his little precious life! (This never ceases to amaze me, by the way). I couldn’t be happier.

I also couldn’t figure out what the heck he was talking about.

After much back and forth and getting only one clue from him as to what our song might be – “You know, the one where everyone is screaming” – I figured it out. Kids by MGMT.

WOW. Ok. I was going to post the video for Kids right here, but oh-my-god-and-jesus-christ that’s the scariest thing I’ve ever seen in my whole life. When in doubt, just go with the PS22 version:

Well, Thing 1 turned 7 this summer and I decided it was about time for his very first mix cd, which will of course, determine the whole course of his future life and control his destiny. This is a lot of pressure.

To start off I added a couple of songs I already know he’s into.

Then I threw on some songs I thought he might enjoy:

Some songs I really, really  hope he’ll like:

A little Cat Stevens for good measure…

…and some songs that he better love or he’ll be cut off!

Almost done, except….it just doesn’t feel complete without Radiohead. Hmmm…how about a Radiohead cover?

And now I’ve done it again. Gone right overboard. Gift giving is so hard! I had to remind myself constantly that I was making this mix for Thing 1 and not for myself. Do I add songs that I don’t particularly like but think he’ll love? (I did.) Do I add songs I don’t think he’ll like at all but I love so much that I can’t make a mix without adding them? (I didn’t – though y’all know I had to squeeze a White Stripes song on here.)

Feeling fairly confident in my choices, I wrapped it up and wondered where in the world I can get the boy a discman to play the thing.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    No Name said,

    You got your things mixed up.

  2. 3

    […] to be able to spend some time with Thing 1 and Thing 2. I am happy to report that Thing 1 loves the cd I made for him. He particularly likes Sleepyhead by Passion Pit. He also car-dances like a real weirdo. Oh, […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

