the scrap pile: chicken & waffles

I’m going to cook dinner for my sister and her friend tonight. When I asked her what she wanted, she said:

“Chicken and waffles.”

Well, so be it.

Except…I’ve never fried chicken before. And I gave myself food poisoning the last time I cooked chicken (roughly 8 years ago). I’ll let you know how it goes.

Apparently chicken and waffles are very big right now. There are a ton of variations which make the the combo a little less messy than you might expect – good news for me since I don’t have dining chairs yet.

1) Snappy Gourmet has chicken STUFFED waffles, which addresses the problem of how to get both chicken and waffle in one not-so-messy bite. I love this and is similar to an idea I have which I might try (I’ll let you know).

2) At Taste for Adventure they simply put the chicken between two waffles to eat it sandwich style. Not a bad idea. I’m thinkin’ you could fold it up in one waffle and eat it taco style.

3) Finally, Apples and Onions put bite sized chicken pieces on mini bite size waffles with a drizzle of maple syrup on top. Everything’s better bite sized because you get to eat more! (Right?)

Have you enjoyed chicken and waffles lately? I’m wondering what a good dipping sauce might be…

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    No Name said,

    read this already, post something new, geeze


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

